ZonMw Open Competition

About this programme

ZonMw Open Competition funds research proposals for non-programmed, fundamental research. This funding instrument has no thematic limitations and focuses on research proposals in all scientific disciplines with a question or problem that concerns, or overlaps with, fundamental research into healthcare and innovation.

Through this programme, ZonMw wants to bring together researchers from two or more disciplines to facilitate excellent team science that results in innovative (groundbreaking) research of exceptional quality in the field of healthcare research. The expected outcome of a project is primarily scientific advancement (increased knowledge, development of modelling and theory) within a new collaboration between research groups (team science). ZonMw considers this open stimulus for science to be the primary driver for innovation in science and healthcare for the longer term.

Funding for different modules

Within the ZonMw Open Competition, funding can be requested for different modules: Personnel, Material Credit, Investments, Knowledge Utilisation and Internationalisation.
Via the module Investments, extra funding can be requested for medium-sized infrastructure. Within this module, a minimum of € 100,000 and a maximum of € 250,000 can be requested, and this is intended for funding an investment such as innovative scientific equipment. For this extra investment in infrastructure, financial matching must be provided.
In summary, the ZonMw Open Competition is about:

  • Innovative (groundbreaking) science with a broad impact on science and/or society;
  • Team science: innovative and synergistic collaboration between research groups.



Prof. Hans Heesterbeek


Dr Lia van der Hoek


Dr Truus Abbink
Prof. Anke van den Berg
Prof. Connie Bezzina
Prof. Hendriek Boshuizen
Dr Pouyan Boukany
Prof. Stanley Brul
Prof. Jan Buitelaar
Prof. Dirk-Jan Duncker
Prof. Tom de Greef
Prof. Rolf Groenwold
Prof. Maria Hopman
Prof. Henriëtte van der Horst
Prof. Wijnand Ijsselsteijn
Dr Roland Kuiper
Prof. Paul Lucassen
Prof. Elena Marchiori
Dr Federico de Martino
Dr Frank Meye
Dr Patty Nelemans
Prof. Klaas Poelstra
Prof. Dirk-Jan Reijngoud
Prof. Maroeska Rovers
Dr Ynte Ruigrok
Prof. Rens van de Schoot
Prof. Blanche Schroen
Prof. René Toes
Prof. Marianna Tryfonidou
Prof. André Uitterlinden
Dr Chris Verhaak
Prof. Karin de Visser

€ 19.000.000
Angela Sarabdjitsingh
Senior Programme Manager
opencompetitie [at] zonmw.nl
Jacoline Griep
Programme Assistant
opencompetitie [at] zonmw.nl
Roos Harmsen
Programme manager
opencompetitie [at] zonmw.nl
Sanna-Mari Kuisma
Programme Secretary
opencompetitie [at] zonmw.nl